Skip to content

First Reflective Post & Skills Audit

November 27, 2011

Skills Audit – Nathan Sherratt

After completing the Skills Audit I have been able to identify a possible career, based upon my strengths, and I have recognised the skills I will need to improve and develop to become employable in this field. I feel that with my degree in English, combined with my previous experience and the skills I currently possess, that Teaching could be a very appropriate career to pursue.

What skills do I currently possess?

  • Problem Solving/Creativity: I feel that this is one of the most relevant skills required for teaching, because as a teacher I would have to be able to use creativity to withhold the interest of the pupils. Additionally, I will have to make the topic understandable for them, so they are able to successfully learn it by the end of the lesson. As mentioned in my Skills Audit, I utilised this skill while teaching children in Sri Lanka, where I used creative tasks like getting the class to sing the ‘Rainbow Song’, which resulted in them learning the colours of the rainbow by the end of the lesson.
  • Project Management: This was another skill which I rated as ‘4’, as I felt I have developed this one quite well, and it is another skill which is vital for teaching, as I learned when teaching in Sri Lanka. I had to plan lessons in advance, thinking of the lesson objectives, how I was going to teach the children and what resources would be needed. This meant that the lessons went to plan very smoothly, and it came to a close when the hour had run out. This skill is very important for planning lessons effectively and ensuring that the necessary information is covered within a one hour lesson.

What skills do I aim to develop? And how?

  • Leadership: It will be very important to be a respected and inspirational teacher, in order to motivate the pupils to work hard in class. I feel that I have developed this skill, once again during my experience, as I used my personal enthusiasm to hold the attention of others and keep them interested in the activities and tasks. Nevertheless, I think that I need to improve this skill because this was only one of the few instances where I was able to be a leader. Therefore, to develop this skill I will attend the relevant workshops held in University and I will be able to use my role as Course Rep to act as a respectable leader for my fellow students. I can use my enthusiasm to prove that I am interested in improving their experience, and use my influence to make some changes if required.
  • Confidence (Communication): This was another skill which I only marked as ‘3’, however I feel that I need to develop this skill for a possible career in teaching. It will be very important to be confident and not intimidated when speaking to a large number of children, to show that I am in charge and that I am at ease when teaching them. This will help to engage and maintain their attention. Nevertheless, after my first SSC Meeting I realised that my public speaking confidence was not as good as I would have liked. In order to develop this I then attended the Speaking with Confidence workshop, which was very useful. Therefore, in the future I will attend more workshops to improve this skill and I will also try to speak publicly as much as possible.
From → Reflective Posts

3 Comments
  1. Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet.

  2. Love your blog!

  3. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

